SMS: Strawberry-Ruby Grapefruit Preserves

Welcome, new SMS’ers!

Strawberry-Ruby Grapefruit Preserves 006

One of these days I’ll actually post an SMS recipe on Sunday, and everyone’s going to die of shock.  Unfortunately, I spent five hours in a car on Sunday, driving back from my grandparents’, and the rest of the day studying for an exam.  Fortunately, Mike liked my grandparents, my grandparents liked Mike, and all was good.  Yeah, after over two years of dating, my grandparents finally met my boyfriend 🙂

Strawberry-Ruby Grapefruit Preserves 025

Anyway… This week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays recipe was chosen by Margot of Effort to Deliciousness.  Pretty please drop by her site, she has wonderful pictures, a great sense of humor, and a really nifty way of rating recipes based on the effort that went into them and how delicious they were (aka an Effort to Deliciousness Ratio).  She also made some gorgeous breakfast pastries with this week’s preserves.

Strawberry-Ruby Grapefruit Preserves 036

This was my first time making preserves, and I have to say, it was so much easier than I thought it would be!  It was just chopping fruit, cooking it down, mashing it a little bit, and putting it into a jar.  I made half of the recipe which yielded just over one pint.  Since it was only one jar, I didn’t bother going through the actual canning process, and just put the preserves in the jar and put them in the fridge.  I took them up to my grandparents’ house, along with the Whole Orange Bread we made last week for SMS and the Raspberry Buttermilk Cake, which has become an instant favorite for me, and everything was a big hit.  These preserves actually tasted pretty good with the orange bread.  The preserves were pretty tart, but I still really liked them.  I think what’s left of them will be good with the whole wheat bread I just took out of the oven, too!

Strawberry-Ruby Grapefruit Preserves 043

I would recommend these again to anyone, since they’re quick and really yummy.  For the recipe, check out Effort to Deliciousness here, and to see what everyone else thought of this week’s choice, check out the blogroll.

Strawberry-Ruby Grapefruit Preserves 014

Finally, on a note completely unrelated to cooking, congratulations to my friends who got engaged this weekend, especially Colleen (who I’ve known since I was six)!  I’m incredibly happy for both of you and wish you the best of luck.  Also, if one more person asks when I’m getting engaged or insinuates that they think it could/should happen within the next year or two, I’m going to run screaming out of the state.  I have too much to do to worry about getting engaged.  😀  Thank you, The Peanut Gallery.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “SMS: Strawberry-Ruby Grapefruit Preserves

  1. Love the bright red color of your preserves. Glad it was a big hit. I made mine with equal amounts of strawberries and rhubarb (delish).

    Congrats on the grandparents’ boyfriend “approval” :o)

  2. Thanks for the kind words about my blog, I really appreciate it. Thanks for preserving along with me this week; I’m glad you enjoyed them and it sounds like others did too. And congrats to your friends on their engagement and to Mike for passing the grandparent test!

  3. hotovenwarmheart

    Hi Jen!

    So glad you had a fun trip to your grandparents, and they gave the thumbs up on your boyfriend! That’s always good 🙂

    Great job on your preserves- they look so bright and beautiful. I never would have thought of paring them with the orange cake, but that must have been lovely. Your family is lucky to be the beneficiaries of all your delicious goodies, and I’m sure they truly appreciated all your hard work!

    Hope you’re doing well, and I look forward to talking again soon!

    -Joy

  4. Your preserves look wonderful! I’m sure they were delicious with all of the other yummy baked goods. That buttermilk cake is a favorite of mine, too:)

  5. I haven’t had a chance to try this recipe yet bu it looks great

Leave a Reply

