Raspberry Buttermilk Cake

Raspberry Buttermilk Cake 006

When I was pretty young, maybe six or seven, my family’s summer trip was to a small town in Wisconsin where we spent several days at a bed and breakfast.  I don’t remember a whole lot about the trip, aside from our room having a lofted section, which was just the coolest thing ever, and a fishfry that took place late into one night at the building next door.  My strongest memory, however, is of the raspberries.  It was in the middle of berry season, and there were raspberries everywhere.  They were the biggest berries I’d ever seen in my life, and the sweetest, too.  One morning for breakfast, I just had a big bowl of raspberries, blueberries, and whipped cream- because you can do that when you’re six and on vacation.  My family remembers the raspberries well, and my dad claims they’re the best he’s ever had in his life.  And to this day, raspberries are one of my favorite fruits.

So when I saw this recipe for raspberry buttermilk cake on Smitten Kitchen, I was, well, smitten.  In addition to being full of my favorite fruit, which happened to be on sale for a steal, it didn’t have too much butter or sugar, so the berries would really shine through.  After I made it, I’d say it’s pretty heavenly.  It’s not overly sweet, and is very tender.  It was even still good a couple days later, although it was best the first day.  I think it would be perfect with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, but want to know a secret?  I ate it on its own for breakfast, and that was fine by me!

The only change I made to the recipe was to bake it in four 4-inch pans, which baked for about 19-25 minutes.  If you want to make the recipe in 4-inch pans, though, I’d say be really careful on the bake times, because my oven’s a little bit crazy so I don’t know how accurate those times are.  My first two were done in 19 minutes, but the second two were still liquid at that point.  If you don’t feel like dealing with that, just bake the cake in the 9-inch pan.  Just go make this cake, now!  Sub in whatever berries or fruit you like best if you’re not a big raspberry person.

Raspberry Buttermilk Cake

from Gourmet magazine, via Smitten Kitchen with my changes in italics

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup plus 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup well-shaken buttermilk
  • 1 cup fresh raspberries (about 5 ounces)

1) Preheat oven to 400°F with rack in middle. Butter and flour a 9-inch round cake pan. I used four 4-inch diameter Springform pans.

2) Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

3) Beat butter and 2/3 cup sugar with an electric mixer (by hand) at medium-high speed until pale and fluffy, about 2 minutes, then beat in vanilla. Add egg and beat well.

4) At low speed, mix in flour mixture in 3 batches, alternating with buttermilk, beginning and ending with flour, and mixing until just combined. I missed this step and just added the buttermilk all at once, then the dry ingredients.

5) Spoon batter into cake pan, smoothing top. Scatter raspberries evenly over top and sprinkle with remaining 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar.

6) Bake until cake is golden and a wooden pick inserted into center comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes (19-25 minutes). Cool in pan 10 minutes, then turn out onto a rack and cool to warm, 10 to 15 minutes more. Invert onto a plate.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Raspberry Buttermilk Cake

  1. Your cake looks delicious! I love raspberries.

  2. How adorable! I love the raspberry buttermilk cakes. The cakes really do look light and fluffy =D

  3. I forgot to thank you for congradulating me graduating college so: Thank you!!! YAAY!!!, Shandy

  4. I made this recently too, it’s such a great cake. The mini version is adorable.

  5. Pingback: Giddy « Not Microwave Safe

  6. Pingback: SMS: Strawberry-Ruby Grapefruit Preserves « Not Microwave Safe

  7. My friend made it over the weekend (we ate it with tea at her house) and it was delicious. She used blueberries. The only difference is that hers sank a bit in the middle (she used a 9″ pan). Yours doesn’t look sunk at all. Not sure what happened there.

Leave a Reply

