Lemon Sugar Cookies

Lemon Sugar Cookies 005

This past weekend, I promised to post the recipe for lemon cookies my friends and I took to the fireworks show.  And since I just decided to go to my grandparents’ farm in Wisconsin for the weekend, where there is almost no internet connection, that means it’s really time to post these!  I absolutely loved them, and so did Britni.  The outside was really crunchy from the turbinado sugar, but the inside was soft and tender.  They were a little bit puffy when we took them out of the oven, and didn’t quite look done, but they deflated a little bit and were perfect.  The only change we made from the original recipe was to increase the lemon extract from 1 1/2 to 2 teaspoons, because we thought the lemon flavor was a little too subtle.  Also, I somehow got almost twice as many cookies as the original recipe, but I thought they were still a really nice size (read: I thought they were pretty big).   These are definitely going in my regular cookie rotation.

As a side note, there are no step-by-step pictures in this post because we were having too much fun to interrupt with picture-taking, but if you want some, stop by The Crepes of Wrath (also the source of this recipe), who takes lovely photos demonstrating each step of the recipe.  Sydney’s was actually the first food blog I got into after a recommendation from a friend, and many recipes on her site have become favorites around here!  Anyway, without further ado, the recipe.

Lemon Sugar Cookies (with my changes in italics)

adapted from The Crepes of Wrath, who adapted them from The Boastful Baker

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups white sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 teaspoons lemon extract (I used 2 tsp., 1 1/2 wasn’t lemon-y enough)
zest of 1 lemon
1/2 cup granulated or raw sugar for rolling cookies (I used raw sugar, which I really liked)

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper or tin foil and spray lightly with Pam. I didn’t bother lining or greasing my sheets, they’re non-stick and it wasn’t a problem.

2. In a small bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

3. Rub together the zest and granulated sugar until the sugar is a pale yellow color. This helps to infuse all of the oils in the zest into the sugar and gives your cookies an even more lemony flavor. Using a mixer, beat together the butter and sugar until smooth and very fluffy (about 3-5 minutes).

4. Beat in egg, vanilla extract, and lemon extract.

5. Gradually blend in the dry ingredients and mix until just moistened.

6. Roll rounded tablespoons of dough into balls (I made one-inch balls), and roll in sugar. Place on lined cookie sheets about 1 1/2 inches apart.

7. Bake 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until lightly golden and set.

8. Let stand on cookie sheet two minutes before removing to cool on wire racks. As soon as the cookies have cooled, store them in an airtight container to keep them nice and soft. Makes around 20 cookies.  I got 36 good-sized cookies.

Bordmans Theater Public Enemies Premier

Ok, and for the sake of geeking out just a little bit…  The much-anticipated Johnny Depp/Christian Bale movie “Public Enemies” premiered last night, and because several Champaign swing dancers were extras in the movie (in the scene where John and Billie meet, if you saw the movie) and it’s just an awesome movie that was filmed in Illinois, Bordman’s Art Theater in downtown Champaign had a premier party and decorated the theater and the street outside like it was 1934.  This included the vintage cars in the picture, and my favorite part, the signs advertising their air conditioning.

Public Enemies Premier Swing Group

They also asked the Swing Society to come dance before the movie started, preferably in period clothing.  And you want to know what’s odd?  We’ve done so many of these that most of us have 1930-40s style clothes ready at a moment’s notice.  Anyway, here’s most of the dancers who showed up (I’m in the brown dress, second from the right).  Oh, and there’s so much hairspray and bobby pins in my hair (even though you can’t see the style in this shot) that I slept on it and when I woke up this morning it looked the same.  I’m pretty sure that’s the only way women in that time could have hair that looked that amazing every day and still function.  The theater also encouraged people just coming to see the movie to dress up, and a lot of people did!  Check out the woman in blue on the right, or the guy behind her in the bow tie and straw “boater” hat!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Lemon Sugar Cookies

  1. Ah, this is the cookie recipe you sent to me! Thanks – even though I haven’t made them yet, I plan to, soon.

    Are you a dancer? How cool that you got to dance at the premiere!

  2. This cookie is going to the top of my to try list. I just love lemon, so I’ll try to remember to add the extra extract. How cool that you were at that premier! I’m guessing that you are part of the dancing crew then? I love that people enthusiastically dressed up. Such fun.

  3. Jennifer,
    Thanks for stopping by and leaving such a nice comment. To answer your question, it took me about 40 hours total. Roughly:
    1/3 = research
    1/3 = baking
    1/3 = frosting and decorating
    What you can’t see in that picture is that there are 2 more cakes (a 6″ and an 8″). A total of 5 two layers cakes.

  4. I can’t wait to try these cookies! I made some lemon sugar cookies a while ago and there was no problem getting rid of the four dozen the recipe made and these look like they’d be a huge hit too. That premiere looks like a lot of fun!

  5. That’s so cool that you got to dance!

    I adore lemon cookies, much love!!

    Katie xox

  6. The premier was a ton of fun, thanks everyone! And yes, I’ve been swing dancing for 5 years and teaching for two. But in the interest of not being misleading, I actually wasn’t in the movie 😦 The shoots were overnight and lasted 12-14 hours, and I was working full time during the day, so I couldn’t do it… But thank you for all of the sweet comments!

  7. Lemon Cookie Recipes –

    These lemon cookies are icebox or refrigerator cookies.
    Cook Time: 12 minutes
    Total Time: 12 minutes
    Ingredients:

    * 3 cups all-purpose flour
    * 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
    * dash of salt
    * 1 1/2 cups sugar
    * 3/4 cup (6 ounces) butter, room temperature
    * 1 large egg
    * 1/4 cup lemon juice
    * 2 tablespoons finely grated lemon peel

    Preparation:
    soda and salt. In a separate bowl, beat together 1 cup of the sugar with the butter until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg, lemon juice and zest, then gradually blend in the flour mixture. Form the dough into 2 rolls about 2 inches wide and 7 inches long. Wrap the rolls in waxed paper and refrigerate until firm, about an hour.

    Preheat the oven to 375°.
    Unwrap the cookie dough and cut into slices about 1/4-inch thick. Sprinkle slices lightly with remaining sugar and place on an ungreased baking sheet. Bake until lightly browned around the edges, about 12 minutes. Cool the cookies on a rack and store in an airtight container.
    Makes about 5 to 6 dozen lemon icebox cookies.

  8. These are lovely, light, lemony butter cookies. They’re easy to make and not too sweet. They aren’t heavily lemony but this may depend on the type of lemon one uses. I used Meyer.

Leave a Reply

