Sweet Melissa Sundays: Butterscotch Cashew Bars

Butterscotch Cashew Bars 007

This week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays recipe was chosen by Pamela of Cookies with Boys.  She’s in several different cooking groups, and does such a wonderful job introducing me to new recipes through them, plus her pictures just make me hungry!  Check her out!

I started summer school this week, so the first few days were chaotic as I set my schedule and learned all about Hinduism, a 4000 year old religion, in four hours!  I decided to quarter this recipe and make it on Friday, but as I was driving home from the grocery store and looking at the green-ish sky, tornado sirens started going off, the skies opened up and it started pouring, and I got a text message from the University that a tornado was about to hit campus!  So instead, I spent Friday night hiding in the basement of Mike’s frat house (even though he’s, um, in California).  Fortunately, the tornado missed us, so we kept power and the only damage has been a bunch of fallen tree limbs.  Up by my parents, people are still without power, and one building lost its roof!

Butterscotch Cashew Bars 008

Later Friday night, my good friend (and future roommate) Christian invited me to an annual fishing derby his family had on Saturday.  I didn’t have to bring anything, but offered to make this anyway.  I was really happy with how quickly it came together, and despite forgetting to prick the shortbread with a fork, it didn’t puff up on me.  The only problem was that the butterscotch wouldn’t firm up!  I even put it on the floor as I was driving and pointed the AC towards the foot vents, but no luck.  Add to that the 85 degree weather, and we had runny butterscotch the whole time.  No one minded, though, and I really liked these.  I was really glad for the salty cashews, or I think it might have been too sweet.  Everyone liked them, though, and I even won the award for “Best Dessert” with these!  Good thing, too, because I certainly didn’t win the fishing derby!  The three-year-old caught more fish than I did!  I did catch some serious UV rays, though, I’m burnt to a crisp!

Butterscotch Cashew Bars 013

My certificate!  Apparently when you combine senior-citizen-hearing and my “Northurn ak-sint”, my name becomes “Jan” 🙂

Check out what the other SMS’ers thought of this week’s recipe by checking the blogroll.

Butterscotch Cashew Bars 010Oh, and Mom, the corn’s doing fine.  Apparently some farmer’s claiming that he’s going to have sweet corn by July 10th.  And for people not familiar with U of I, the town really is in the middle of nowhere corn and soybean fields.  This was about half an hour from campus, but once you get about 5 miles from campus it starts to look like this.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Sweet Melissa Sundays: Butterscotch Cashew Bars

  1. Thanks for the very kind words and for baking along with me this week! Sorry the butterscotch didn’t firm up for you, but I’m glad that you liked them. Best dessert award…yeah!! It’s pretty funny that they got your name wrong, though!

  2. A fishing derby sounds like fun. Congratulations on winning for “Best Dessert” and staying safe from the tornado. How scary!

  3. Glad everyone’s ok. Your bars look great!

  4. The bars look gooey and yummy, congrats on your award! I was actually born in Champaign, but moved to California when I was nine months old, so I am not familiar with the U of I at all (my parents are, though); fun seeing pictures.

  5. Congrats on your big win!!

  6. hotovenwarmheart

    Hi Jen!

    I’m glad you decided to make the bars, and congratulations on the “Best Dessert” award win! That’s exciting 🙂 Your post made me laugh when I read you tried to aim the ac on the bars resting on the car floor- very clever, and too funny! I guess you could say my bars never fully “set-up” either- the butterscotch layer stayed really soft and gooey, but everyone gave them the thumbs up anyway! I’d love for you to stop by my site to check them out if you have a chance! Here’s the link: http://hotovenwarmheart.wordpress.com

    Hope to talk to you again after this Sunday’s recipe postings! Have a great rest of your week!

    -Joy

Leave a Reply

