Sweet Melissa Sundays: Chocolate Chip Cookies with Toasted Almonds

Chocolate Chip Cookies with Toasted Almonds 036

What’s that, you say?  Wednesday is actually the furthest away from Sunday you can possibly get?  Hmm…  I pinkie promise I’ll do better next time!

Thanks so much to everyone who wished me luck on the LSAT, by the way!  It went pretty well, I think.  For those of you familiar with the exam, the logic games section kind of kicked my butt a little bit, but I heard that it kind of kicked everyone’s butt, so I feel a little bit better.  And everything else went great, I thought.

Right after I took the exam, I flew out to San Francisco with my mom, which was a ton of fun.  Of course, after a month sitting on my butt studying for finals and the LSAT, I wasn’t exactly in what we would call “good shape”, so walking all those hills was a chore!  I understand why everyone I met who lives there was in such good shape!  We did all of the typical stuff, Alcatraz, Chinatown, the crookedest street in the world, Fisherman’s Wharf (which was really close to our hotel), the Golden Gate Bridge, cable cars, the Ferry Building, I don’t really remember now.  Anyway, it was a great way to take our mind off things.  Our flight home, however, was delayed three and a half hours (it was only a four hour flight) because the engine was broken.  We were pretty happy they decided not to fly on it, though, we didn’t want to end up on the news!  We ended up having to switch to a different plane, anyway.  So we didn’t get in until 2:30 Sunday morning, and then I didn’t get to school until 10:00 Sunday night, and then I started summer school, and…  Now it’s Wednesday.

Chocolate Chip Cookies with Toasted Almonds 010

Anyway, enough of my life story!  This week’s challenge was chosen by none other than Melissa Murphy.  Name sound familiar?  Probably because she wrote the book we’re baking out of, the Sweet Melissa Baking Book.  How cool is that?  Anyway, she chose the Chocolate Chip Cookies with Toasted Almonds.  I was glad she chose an easy recipe, because this week I just didn’t have much time.  She mentioned that she makes them without almonds at the bakery, because so many people have nut allergies, but she prefers them with the nuts.

Chocolate Chip Cookies with Toasted Almonds 005

So, since I made this late, I had the other bakers’ knowledge that the dough gets very firm, and some people mentioned that they had a hard time getting the chilled dough out of the bowl to make logs.  I just made the logs with the room temperature dough, and it worked out wonderfully.  Also, since I was making these so quickly, when I only had 1/4 cup of almonds (the recipe calls for 1/2 cup), I just made half of the cookies with nuts and half without.  I’m really happy with it that way, because I can eat based on what I’m feeling like at the time.  I was also happy to learn that the dough freezes well- since Mike’s in Los Angeles right now with the Formula team (race car competition), and I’m starting my working out/eating slightly healthier thing now that I don’t have any stress eating excuses, I really didn’t need two dozen cookies sitting around.  But they’re only a slice and bake away, if I do need them!

Chocolate Chip Cookies with Toasted Almonds 016

Having learned my lesson from the Granola Breakfast Cookies, I made sure the dough looked decent before I put them in the oven, and they looked so pretty coming out!  They were a tiny bit too crisp around the edges, but that one’s definitely my fault.  I forgot to turn the oven down a touch since I was using dark, non-stick pans (my first time using my new Wilton pans!), and when I took them out, they ended up on the pan for a while while I tracked down a spatula (leading to the decision that Friday will be spent cleaning intensively).  I really loved the flavor, though.  They were slightly caramel-y and loaded with chocolate and nuts.  To be perfectly honest, I think I would have liked the nut ones a little bit better if the almonds hadn’t been toasted beforehand.  However, I generally prefer my chocolate chip cookies without nuts, so that wasn’t much of a surprise.  These were still delicious, though, both with and without the nuts!

Chocolate Chip Cookies with Toasted Almonds 042

Check out the blogroll to see what the other SMS’ers thought of these cookies- there seems to be overwhelmingly positive reactions.  Then again, who ever says that they can’t stand chocolate chip cookies?  Also, if you check the SMS home page, you can seem Melissa’s post on these!  Thanks so much, Melissa, for baking with us this week!  It’s pretty much the coolest thing to do, and I really appreciate taking time out of your hectic schedule for us!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Sweet Melissa Sundays: Chocolate Chip Cookies with Toasted Almonds

  1. Wow – I’m envious from your trip to SF. I haven’t been there in years – but I can remember it all in vivid detail. Ahhh…….

    The cookies were great – and I’m glad you had a chance to make them!

Leave a Reply

