Sweet Melissa Sundays: Guiness Gingerbread

Guiness Gingerbread 019

This week, Katie of Katiecakes chose our recipe, Guiness Gingerbread.  I thought it was a bit odd, gingerbread in May, when most of our recipes have been heavy on the fresh fruit, but then remembered that she’s from Newcastle, England, where the weather isn’t quite as spring-y as it is here.  Although Urbana could probably give England a run for its money in the rain department this past week!  You should definitely check out Katie’s site, she has some wonderful recipes and beautiful pictures!

Guiness Gingerbread 007

This week’s recipe was a lot of fun, and I really enjoyed it- and I’m not usually a gingerbread person!  I think it’s that whole “molasses” issue I’m working on overcoming.  That, and there are so many wonderful alternatives, especially at my Grandma’s at Christmas, that I’ve mostly avoided it.  I halved this recipe, anyway, and baked it in a 9×5 loaf pan for 30 minutes (I probably should have checked it at 25 minutes, the edges were very crisp).

This recipe was very spicy, which I enjoyed.  I left out the cocoa powder, because I left mine at my parent’s/home a while ago, and since I’m heading back this week, I didn’t see the use in buying another container.  I think the white pepper added a nice kick, which I hadn’t expected!  To be honest, I really didn’t taste the Guiness.

Guiness Gingerbread 005

I think I would make this recipe again, but would definitely wait until the winter.  I procrastinated big time with this one, and just baked it this afternoon, and it was so nice and sunny that it just seemed out of place.  It had a really nice, dense crumb, was a little bit moist, and pleasantly spicy.  I would also make this again because now I can- I just turned 21 about a week and a half ago, so it was exciting to be able to buy my own Guiness for this recipe, rather than asking someone else.  Mike has learned to accept that I sometimes ask for strange types of alcohol for cooking, but it’s still nice to not have to ask someone to go out of their way to find some odd liquor.  And if you don’t believe me, above is the bracelet I got at the bar on my birthday saying that I’m 21 (in Champaign, you can get into bars at 19, but they give you a bracelet once you turn 21 so they know you’re old enough to buy alcohol).  Oh, and the bracelet Mike gave me for Christmas a couple of years ago.

In any event, I’m still having a ton of fun with the Sweet Melissa Sundays group, and you should check out the blogroll to see what everyone else thought of this sweet, spicy bread.  Also, the membership is going to be capped at 50 people, so if you’ve been on the fence, drop over there and join the group ASAP!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Sweet Melissa Sundays: Guiness Gingerbread

  1. haha, I always forget the weather in America is much nicer than it is over here. Even in the Summer it’s rainy in Newcastle!

    So glad you decided to bake along, your gingerbread looks fab!

    Katie xox

  2. Your gingerbread looks great!

  3. The gingerbread looks delicious, glad you enjoy baking with us!!!

  4. I had problems with the baking time too. I baked mine for the shortest amount of time and it still got too dark on the edges.

  5. Happy Birthday, boy is that a milestone one. Loved the pic of the bracelet and the gingerbread looks fantastic.

  6. I’m so glad that you’re having so much fun with this group. Oh, and happy belated birthday. Twenty-one is a fun one, for sure! Isn’t it awesome to be able to buy booze for your baking now 🙂 Your gingerbread looks great, and I’m so glad you loved it!! Yay for working on the molasses thing (I am, too). Sorry that I’ve been an absent commenter; I just finished up my law school exams and am finally getting around to my google reader.

  7. I agree that the guinness was a bit subtle. I love gingerbread, but I’ve never seen the spread at your grandmother’s – it would probably make me forget the gingerbread too!

  8. Wendy

    YUM. Your gingerbread looks wonderful!

  9. yummy:) thanks for your hints , i’d love to adhere to your weblog as usually as i can.have a nice day~~

Leave a Reply

