Sweet Melissa Sundays: Strawberry Shortcakes

strawberry-shortcakes-004

Wow, so I really managed to mess this one up!  Sorry this is late, I wrote the post earlier this week, but it’s finals week and I was up late finishing a presentation and paper for today, and completely forgot to actually put the post up.  Sorry guys!  And just a heads up, I won’t be doing this week’s recipe (thanks again, finals), but I’m really looking forward to seeing what everyone else makes, and I’m sad that I’ll miss it :’-(  Anyway, here’s the post…

This week, Wendy from Pink Stripes picked out Strawberry Shortcakes for all of us to bake.  You should definitely check out her site, she made FOUR variations on this!  FOUR!!!  Anyway, these shortcakes were delicious, let me tell you!  They have a little bit of lemon zest that I think puts them over the top.  They were pretty big, but other than that I loved them.  Plus, any excuse to eat strawberries is good in my books 🙂

I really didn’t take pictures, and I still had issues with baking yesterday.  I started off trying to half the recipe, because I really didn’t need six shortcakes, but then for some reason added the whole amount of butter, so I ended up making a full batch.  I’m pretty sure I overdid the lemon zest, because by the time I was adding in the ingredients to make a full batch I was completely frazzled (the recipe was perfectly clear, no worries, I’m just kind of scatterbrained lately).  The dough was a little bit dry for me, so I added an extra tablespoon or two of  cream, but that was the only change I needed to make to the recipe.  But still, by the time I was done and putting them together, I just wasn’t in the mood to deal with the camera (that, and a certain boyfriend was hungry and pestering me).  I’ll definitely be making these again, though, and might even go so far as to recommend that my mom add some lemon zest to her shortcakes next time!

Check out the blogroll to see what the other SMS’ers thought of this week’s recipe, and thanks Wendy, this was a wonderful choice!  Sorry for the short post and lack-of-blogging-updates, finals start this week and I’m in full-on work mode.  Hopefully I can get a tiny bit of baking done this week, if not I’ll try to post some of the stuff I didn’t get to this week.

Please pretend that last statement was logically constructed.  Thanks.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Sweet Melissa Sundays: Strawberry Shortcakes

  1. The shortcakes looks nice and tender. Great job! Good luck with your finals!!

  2. Your shortcake looks great! Hope finals go well for you!

  3. Good luck with your finals! So glad you made the shortcakes – they were delicious!

  4. Mom

    Pretty presentation of the strawberry shortcake on Grandma’s dishes! Looks refreshing and quite yummy!!

Leave a Reply

