No SMS: Spiced Pumpkin Cookie Cakes

Evil Pumpkin

This week’s recipe was chosen by Debbie of Everyday Blessings of the Five Dees.  Unfortunately, I was unable to participate :-(  I couldn’t find pumpkin puree when I went shopping, and because of midterms did not have a chance to go to another grocery store.  Apparently there’s currently a shortage of pumpkin in some parts of the country due to problems with sugar pumpkin productions, which I didn’t realize.  If you’re interested in reading more, check out this discussion on Chowhound.  Please check out Debbie’s page for this week’s recipe, which sounds lovely and oh-so-fall!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “No SMS: Spiced Pumpkin Cookie Cakes

  1. What a bummer on the shortage of pumpkin puree..man it’s all over my town!
    Make these cookies when you can cus they are darn good!

  2. Oh no! I had realized that too – pretty early on, so I decided to spend the money and buy some online. It wasn’t too bad and now I have pumpkin puree for a long while.

  3. Karin

    My grocery store had a sign up about it but they still had quite a few cans, so I stocked up for the holidays. Definitely make these when you can because they were delicious! Maybe you could sub-in sweet potatoes for the pumpkin- they seem to be interchangeable.

  4. i couldn’t find pumpkin puree either. but from what i read, these are some good goodies :)

  5. I am so glad the great pumpkin shortage hasn’t hit Austin….or at least not yet. I’ll bet when people start making pumpkin pies, there’ll be some empty shelves.

Leave a Reply

