Sausage with Ravishing Rice

Sausage with Ravishing Rice 034

Wow, now that I’ve posted an SMS recipe on a Sunday, let’s try getting back into blogging on a regular basis!  It finally started to feel like fall here today.  I think everyone on campus walked out of their apartment or dorm this morning and promptly turned around to grab a coat.  It was one of those days that’s perfectly comfortable in the sun, but when there’s a breeze or you’re in the shade you need to keep your hands in your pockets.  Well, at least, I did.  But I get cold just thinking about snow.

This baked casserole-style meal was perfect for this kind of weather.  My roommates and I only eat together about twice each week because of conflicting schedules, date nights, etc.  Oh, and because we all have such different tastes…  Everyone liked this dish, though!  It’s a slightly spicy, surprisingly filling rice and noodle dish, flavored with onions and peppers.  It’s a little bit time-consuming because of the baking, but could easily be prepped the night before.  I think next time I’ll reduce the onions to 3/4 cup, or maybe caramelize the onions beforehand, because the onion taste was a little bit strong for our tastes.  Other than that, though, we loved this!  We had it with leftover SMS muffins that I froze, which were a lovely side.

Sausage with Ravishing Rice 002

All of your ingredients!

Sausage with Ravishing Rice 014

No product placement intended, but I went to a couple of different stores and this was the only package of two pouches that measured 4.2 ounces, so I’m assuming it’s what Ms. Deen was referring to.

Sausage with Ravishing Rice 015

Brown your sausage.  This was the only other small source of confusion, I didn’t know if the recipe meant Italian sausage, country sausage, or what.  I went with Italian.

Sausage with Ravishing Rice 020

Bring your water to a boil, and add your rice and the chicken noodle soup pouches.  Boil for 10 minutes.

Sausage with Ravishing Rice 018

Chop your onion, green (or orange) pepper, and celery.

Sausage with Ravishing Rice 027

Add your veggies, sausage, butter, and all the spices except the paprika and almonds.  Pour the mixture into a greased 2-quart baking dish.  Honestly, if you have a 2 1/2-quart dish, I would seriously recommend that.  If not, make sure you put a baking sheet under the dish.

Sausage with Ravishing Rice 030

Bake for 40-50 minutes at 350 degrees F.  Eat!

Sausage with Ravishing Rice

from The Lady and Sons, Too! by Paula Deen

Serves 6-8 (recipe says 10-12, but I think they’re lying)

1 pound fresh sausage

5 c. water

1 c. raw long-grain white rice

2 packages dry chicken noodle soup mix from a 4.2 ounce box (I used Lipton brand)

1 c. chopped onion

1 large green bell pepper, chopped (I used orange)

1 c. finely chopped celery

¼ c. butter

½ tsp. seasoned salt

1 tsp. house seasoning (or use ½ tsp. salt, ¼ tsp. black pepper, and ¼ tsp. garlic powder)

¼ c. chopped fresh parsley

¼ c. slivered almonds (I left these out because I didn’t have them)

1/8 tsp. paprika

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Crumble the sausage and cook in a skillet over medium heat until nicely browned; drain well and set aside.  In a large, heavy pot, bring the water to a boil, add the rice and soup mix, and cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Add the sausage, onion, bell pepper, celery, butter, seasonings, and parsley.  Pour into a greased 2-quart casserole dish, top with almonds, and sprinkle with paprika.  Bake the casserole for 40-50 minutes, or until all liquid is absorbed.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Sausage with Ravishing Rice

  1. My mom makes a Sausage Rice Casserole that is sort of similar to this. I think she uses bulk pork sausage–like the Jimmy Dean stuff that comes in a tube–in hers, but all sausage is kind of the same in my opinion!

Leave a Reply

