SMS: Caramelized Onion, Sage, and Cheddar Muffins

Hey everyone!  I’m back for real this time, and even posting (albeit quickly) on a Sunday!  I re-took the LSAT yesterday (the reason I’ve been locked up in my room, away from blogging and all my other fun activities the last several weeks), and I feel like it went really well.  I’m hoping this isn’t one of those scenarios where you feel awesome and then find out you did awful…  But I really don’t think it is.  I only guessed on two questions the whole test (of about 120 questions total), and I also found out that the LSAT I took in June was one of the hardest ones they’ve given in several years.  If I could survive that one and still do well, this one should be no sweat!  Also, I didn’t have any mental snaps and spend several minutes this time trying to figure out if dinosaurs could have been mauve like I did in June, which is most certainly a step in the positive direction ;-)

Caramelized Onion Sage and Cheddar Muffins 002

Anyway, muffins.  This week Hanaa of Hanaa’s Kitchen chose what I’m pretty sure is our first savory recipe, Caramelized Onion, Sage, and Cheddar Muffins.  Or, in my case, thyme muffins.  Yeah, I forgot to pick up sage.  Anyway, while I think these would be great with sage, they were AWESOME with thyme.  Man, I love thyme.  I also left the onions out of half of them for my rather picky roommates.  The muffin batter was really much more of a dough, very thick and solid.  I thought for a second about adding more liquid, but left the dough as it was.  Fortunately, they exceeded my expectations and didn’t turn out really dry.  They had a tiny bit of kick from them due to the cayenne pepper, which I might increase next time because I really liked it.  I was also a little bit short on the cheddar, so I’m looking forward to making them again with the full amount of cheddar, or maybe even extra!  And believe me, I will be making these again!  They went with two different meals fantastically.

Maybe I could add bacon next time…

Barn Dance and Dressing Up 021

Ok, and one more picture.  I’ve had basically no social life the last several weeks courtesy of the LSAT, but I did make it out for Formal Pledging for Mike’s fraternity.  A bunch of the house girlfriends got together beforehand, and we got a pretty cute group picture.  I’m in the red dress (please ignore the weird poof thing it’s doing in the front).  Best of all, though, is the girl right next to me.  Her name’s Jackie, and we’ve been best friends since kindergarten.  We go to different schools, though, and don’t see each other often.  Also, she’s a theater major, and once rehearsals start she can’t go anywhere on weekends, so it was a huge treat for her to come into town.  We had Fat Sandwich (got the Fat Chief), pretty much the least healthy restaurant in existance, and just generally had an awesome weekend.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “SMS: Caramelized Onion, Sage, and Cheddar Muffins

  1. how awesome!
    I hope you did well on your LSATs. There have been a whole bunch of ads on my campus about getting ready for the next LSAT.

    The muffins look amazing!

  2. Im sure you did well on the lsat. Cute muffins (and dress too!)

  3. Great muffins, adorable picture of you with your girl friends and you KNOW you did great on your LSATs. Can life get better? Very nice!

  4. Your muffins look great! I love thyme, too. Cute pic of you and your girlfriends!

  5. Congratulations on your LSAT score…I’m sure that you did GREAT!

    Bacon in those muffins will take them to another lever. I’m glad that you and the roommates enjoyed them.

    Raeann

Leave a Reply

