Daily Archives: May 7, 2009

Walking Tacos

germany-and-urbana-carpet-1661

Sorry this is so dark, it's the only picture of quarter midgets I have where you can see the cars! Mike's youngest sister Sarah is in the white car on the far left.

My boyfriend, Mike, grew up driving racecars.  Ok, so technically they’re called quarter midgets, and as near as I can tell they’re glorified go-karts.  Not important.  See, the important part is that he grew up eating what he calls “racetrack food” just about every Saturday in the summers.  And for the past couple of weeks he’s been pestering me to make “walking tacos”.  All I knew about them was they involved meshing tacos and Fritos, and since I had bags of chips left over from a big dance event a couple of weeks ago, we had walking tacos in all their salty glory.

walking-tacos-006

Step one: Cook and crumble ground beef in a skillet until fully cooked.  Drain off excess fat if necessary and add taco seasoning and water.  I made half a pound of ground beef, so half a package of seasoning.  Alternatively, you can make your own seasoning.

I’ll stress this, though: if you can, use low sodium taco seasoning.  My local grocery store doesn’t usually stock it, so I stock up when I’m at other stores, but I was out this week and used full-salt seasoning.  I don’t really recommend it.

walking-tacos-016

Step two: Once the ground beef is fully cooked and the water has reduced down to a thick sauce, scoop some of the meat into your Fritos bag.  We had four-one ounce bags of Fritos, apparently you’re supposed to use the next size up, but beggars can’t be choosers.  For us, a half a pound of ground beef worked for the four bags (although the fourth bag had significantly less  meat in it), but how much you use will depend on how much meat you want in your walking taco.

walking-tacos-015

Step 3: Add whatever else you want.  Shredded cheese, lettuce, salsa, sour cream, whatever makes you happy.  Mike had cheese, salsa, and sour cream, I had cheese, lettuce, and a bit of salsa, but this part is completely up to you.

walking-tacos-018

Step 4: At this point, you apparently hold the bag shut at the top and shake.  The small bags made this difficult, and I ended up just stirring mine, but you get the same end result.  Which is, grab a fork and dig in!

My thoughts on this, I liked it.  It was fun.  It was WAY TOO FREAKING SALTY!!!  I would be willing to make it again, but I’d definitely use reduced sodium taco seasoning (which I just stocked up on, how convenient!).  Mike was really happy, though, and thought they were good.  This would be a really fun thing for getting kids into the kitchen.  An adult makes the taco meat, and then the kids make their own tacos and shake the bags up (or mix them, if you’re less daring).

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized